The Dallas Mavericks won their first NBA Championship Sunday in Game 6 defeating the Miami Heat 105 to 95.

Led by veterans Dirk Nowitzki (32-years-old), Jason Kidd (38-years-old) and Jason Terry, the Mavericks won four of the series' last five games.

Nowitzki was named the final's Most Valuable Player after leading Dallas in scoring for the 11th consecutive season. The German-born power forward joins a short list of players born outside the U.S. to win the final's MVP award.

Jason Terry, who led the Mavs with 27 points on Sunday, and Nowitzki were the only two remaining players from the Dallas team that lost to Miami in 2006.

When asked about what their championship rings would look like, Maverick's owner Mark Cuban hinted that they may start a new tradition and give each player something besides a ring for winning the Larry O'Brian Trophy.