Contact Us
Make My Homepage

Five Wyoming Cowboys Earn All-Mountain West Conference Honors

wyoming football
Jerrod Anderson, Townsquare Media

Wyoming sophomore defensive end Eddie Yarbrough was named First Team All-Mountain West Conference on Tuesday, and Cowboy senior free safety Marqueston Huff earned Mountain West Second Team honors as the 2013 All-Conference Football Team was announced on by the Mountain West. Three Cowboys earned Honorable Mention All-Mountain West led by junior quarterback Brett Smith, senior wide receiver Robert Herron and junior middle linebacker Jordan Stanton.

The team was selected by Mountain West head coaches and media representatives covering each of the 12 Mountain West member universities. It was the first all-conference honor of both Yarbrough’s and Huff’s careers.  Smith and Herron were both named Honorable Mention for the second consecutive season.  Stanton, who just completed his first season with the Cowboys after transferring to UW from Los Angeles Pierce Community College, also earned his first all-conference honor as a Cowboy.

Yarbrough led all Mountain West defensive linemen in tackles (7.4 tackles per game) this season.  His 89 total tackles were 22 more than any other MW defensive lineman this season.  Yarbrough tied for No. 5 in the conference and No. 74 in the nation in fumbles recovered, averaging 0.17 per game (two total).  He ranked No. 6 in the Mountain West in quarterback sacks, averaging 0.54 per game (6.5 total sacks).  He was 21st in the Mountain West in tackles for all players at all positions (7.4 tackles per game ).  Yarbrough also was among the league leaders in tackles for loss, ranking eighth, with 12.0 total tackles for loss (1.00 per game).

Best of KING FM

Recommended For You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for Rockstar Club quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive Rockstar Club contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.