Newly elected members of the Cheyenne City Council and Laramie County Commission were officially sworn into office on Monday in seperate ceremonies.

Cheyenne Mayor Rick Kaysen was sworn into office for a second term Monday afternoon at the Cheyenne Civic Center by Wyoming Supreme Court Justice Micheal Davis. A few moments later Davis also swore in the city council members elected in November as a group. They include  Jim Brown, Annette Williams, Dicky Shanor, Bryan Cook, Jimmy Valdez and Mike Luna. Valdez and Brown were re-elected as incumbents in November, while Shanor, Cook, Williams and Luna are all new members of the council.

In his remarks to the council, Kaysen praised the work of past city councils, but warned current council members of tough decisions that will have to be made, especially in regard to city finances and budget issues.

Earlier in the day, newly-elected Laramie County Commissioners Amber Ash, M. Lee Hassenour and Keith 'Buck' Holmes were sworn into office by Judge Thomas Campbell. Ash had been a member of the Cheyenne City Council prior to her election to the commission. Because state law forbids anyone from holding two public offices at the same time, Ash officially resigned from her seat on the city council just prior to being sworn in as a county commissioner.