Phillip Phillips has been crowned the winner of the eleventh season of American Idol, beating out Jessica Sanchez.

Host Ryan Seacrest announced on Wednesday’s season finale that 132 million votes viewer votes were cast in deciding the winner.   For winning, Phillips receives a $1 million recording contract, a Ford car and the title of American Idol.

The Idol finale featured guest performances by Aerosmith, Rihanna, John Fogerty, Jennifer Holliday, Reba McEntire, Neil Diamond, Gloria Gaynor, Thelma Houston, Gladys Knight, Nelly Furtado, Sheila E and Chaka Khan, Fantasia and Jordin Sparks, along with musical tributes to late Donna Summer and Bee Gees member Robin Gibb.

More From 101.9 KING-FM