Wyoming’s Brett Smith is one of the eligible candidates for this year’s Davey O’Brien Award.  Smith opened the season by accounting for 475 yards of total offense, passing for 383 yards and throwing four TD passes while rushing for another 92 yards on the road against No. 18 ranked Nebraska.  Smith’s performance came before the largest crowd in the history of Nebraska’s Memorial Stadium (91,185).  He nearly brought the Cowboys from behind to upset the Cornhuskers, throwing two TD passes in the fourth quarter.

The Davey O’Brien Foundation announced Tuesday that the Davey O’Brien Fan Vote is now open. Fans are invited to cast their vote for the nation’s best college quarterback as often as once daily.

The 2013 season marks the seventh year fans have participated in the voting. The Fan Vote counts as five percent during each round of the voting process and is combined with the results from the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee, which is comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners. Fan Vote totals are cleared after each voting round.