Megadeth launched their 2022 tour with a performance April 9 at the Michelob Ultra Arena at Mandalay Bay Resort and Casino in Las Vegas.

The metal giants began their set with an emphatic rendition of “Hangar 18,” the classic track from their 1990 album Rust in Peace. From there, the group blazed through “Dread and the Fugitive Mind” and “Sweating Bullets.”

Watch Megadeth Open Their Show With 'Hangar 18'

At this point, frontman Dave Mustaine addressed the crowd for the first time, thanking fans for coming out while also heaping praise on their tourmates Lamb of God, Trivium and In Flames. Mustaine then told the crowd how much he’s been “looking forward to getting back on tour and playing for you guys. I hope you’re as happy as I am right not, because I could fuckin’ play all night but they won’t let us.”

Further highlights included such metal classics as “Trust” and “Symphony of Destruction.” Full set list and videos from the performance can be found below.

This marked the first 2022 date of the Metal Tour of the Year, a trek Megadeth began last year with an initial trek that ran from August through the end of September. Those 2021 dates were the first Megadeth performed following the dismissal of bassist and co-founder, David Ellefson. James LoMenzo, who filled in for Ellefson on last year’s tour, is continuing with the band for their 2022 run.

Watch Megadeth Play 'Trust'

Watch Megadeth Play 'Symphony of Destruction'

Watch Megadeth Play 'Holy Wars'

Megadeth, Michelob Ultra Arena at Mandalay Bay, Las Vegas, April 9, 2022

1. “Hangar 18”
2. “Dread and the Fugitive Mind”
3. “Sweating Bullets”
4. “She-Wolf”
5. “Trust”
6. “Conquer or Die”
7. “Dystopia”
8. “Symphony of Destruction”
9. “Peace Sells”
10. “Holy Wars... The Punishment Due”

More From 101.9 KING-FM