We told you a few weeks ago that the Red Hot Chili Peppers would be releasing a slew of new tracks over the next six months, but we weren’t sure how or when they’d be unleashing all that music. Now, thanks to a press release from the band, we can give you some of the details.

Turns out the Chili Peppers will be releasing the new music via a series of 7-inch singles — available digitally and on vinyl — starting on August 14, when ‘Strange Man’ and ‘Long Progression’ make their way to stores. Those two songs will be the first of 18 previously unreleased tracks to be released at the rate of two per month, keeping fans sated into 2013.

The singles series is scheduled to continue with ‘Magpies’ and ‘Victorian Machinery’ on September 11, with ‘Never Is a Long Time’ and ‘Love of Your Life’ following on October 2. More singles — titles yet to be determined — are set to follow on November 6, December 4, December 18, and “early 2013.”

Adding additional incentive for collectors, the band has revealed that fans will be able to combine the artwork for the nine-single set — contributed by artist Kelsey Brookes — into one giant picture.

“Finding songs that seem to want to join hands with others is a special task that requires the right people… and the right songs!” commented RHCP guitarist Josh Klinghoffer in the press release. “Some songs seem to have a lot more of an agenda than others. Some songs play well with others and some songs need more attention and a little extra care. Here are some songs that seemed to want to pair up and take a later train. Keep your eye on them, they’re up to something.”

More From 101.9 KING-FM