The third jewel of this year's Triple Crown in horse racing was a sloppy one on a wet track in New York on Saturday. Ruler On Ice outlasted the Preakness winner Shackleford to win the 143rd running of the Belmont Stakes.

With puddles on the mile-and-a-half long track shining in the sun, it almost looked like ice so it was appropriate that a horse named Ruler On Ice won. Jockey Jose Valdivia, Jr rode the 24-1 long shot to victory.

The winner of this year's Preakness, Shackleford, held the lead throughout most of the race but faded at the end and finished in fifth. Animal Kingdom, the 2011 Kentucky Derby winner, was sixth after getting bumped coming out of the starting gate knocking jockey Johnny Valezquez out of his stirrups.

Second place went to Stay Thirsty with Brilliant Speed in third and Nehro fourth. Ruler On Ice became only the second gelding to ever win at Belmont Park following the 1985 victory by Creme Fraiche.

This is the third year in a row that a different horse has won each of the three Triple Crown races. The last horse to win the Triple Crown was Affirmed in 1978.