With the filing period for candidates for the 2016 Primary Election having passed on Friday, May 27 at 5 p.m., 10 candidates have formally filed to run for Mayor of Cheyenne.

The top two vote getters will advance to the general election ballot in November. City elections in Cheyenne are non-partisan, meaning candidates do not formally affiliate with any political party.

The list of mayoral candidates includes two current members of the Cheyenne City Council, Scott Roybal and Jim Brown. The list also includes former state legislator Pete Illoway, and John Palmer, who lost to current Mayor Rick Kaysen in the 2012 general election.

Amy Surdam, who is head of the Cheyenne Downtown Downtown Development Authority and President of the Children's Museum of Cheyenne, was the first to formally file, doing so on May 12.

Other candidates include lobbyist Marian Orr, former Wyoming congressional candidate Rex Wilde, and Cheyenne residents Albert Romsa, Rick Coppinger and Stephen Garrison.

Cheyenne City Councilman Richard Johnson did not file, but says he is running as a write-in candidate with the goal of spending absolutely no money on his campaign, including the $25 it would have cost to formally file as a candidate.

A long list of candidates have also filed to run for the Cheyenne City Council. A listing of those candidates can be seen here.