All five Laramie County commissioners are now Republicans.

Incumbents Troy Thompson and Linda Heath and newcomer Gunnar Malm notched the top three spots in Tuesday's general election, soundly defeating Lee Filer, the lone Democrat in the race.

Thompson won the largest share of the vote with 28.74 percent, while Heath earned 26.93 percent. Malm finished strong in third place with 26.58 percent of the vote.

​The three will join commissioners Amber Ash and Buck Holmes, who were re-elected to four-year terms in 2016.

Commissioner Ron Kailey, the only Democrat on the commission, announced in April that he would not be seeking re-election.

More From 101.9 KING-FM