U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos today announced the 56th class of U.S. Presidential Scholars and recognized 161 high school seniors for their accomplishments in academics, the arts, and career and technical education fields.

There were two Wyoming Students on that list:

  • Megan Ruth Dufault, Jackson Hole High School (Jackson, Wyoming).
  • Sam D. Miller, Laramie High School (Laramie, Wyoming).

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was created in 1964 and has honored over 7,600 of the nation’s top-performing students. The program was expanded in 1979 to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, literary and performing arts. In 2015, the program was further extended to recognize students who demonstrate ability and accomplishment in career and technical education fields.

The Presidential Scholars Class of 2020 will be recognized for their outstanding achievement this summer, as public health circumstances permit.

A complete list of 2020 U.S. Presidential Scholars is available at http://www.ed.gov/psp.

More From 101.9 KING-FM