Hmmm...which John Cougar album should we play?

It's already the last weekend of June and that means at 8 a.m. on the 'KING FM Sunday Brunch' we'll be playing an album side. To prepare for the opening Night Show of Cheyenne Frontier Days, July 18, we're playing a side of John Cougar-Mellencamp.

His first album to feature his real last name was 'Uh-Huh,' released in 1983. We'll be playing side one of his seventh album which features the tracks:

1. 'Crumblin' Down' (co-written by George Green)

2. 'Pink Houses'

3. 'Authority Song'

4. 'Warmer Place To Sleep' (Green, Mellencamp)

Bonus track: 'Jackie O' (co-written by John Prine. From side 2) I couldn't resist.

Personnel on the album includes:

  • Ken Aronoff-drums
  • Larry Crane-guitar
  • Toby Myers-bass
  • Mike Wanchic-guitar, background vocals

Plus special guests:

  • Willie Weeks-bass guitar
  • Louis Johnson-bass
  • Carroll Sue Hill-backing vocals
  • Jay Ferguson-backing vocals

On the back of the inner sleeve it says, 'This album was written, arranged and recorded during a sixteen day blow-out at THE SHACK.' Referring to The Shack in Jackson County, Indiana, Mellencamp's recording studio.

Join us and get ready for opening night of Cheyenne Frontier Days on Friday, July 18, with opening act Carlene Carter. Win tickets at