A new law passed by the 2012 Wyoming Legislature is now in effect, and allows drivers to exceed the speed limit by up to 10 mph to pass a vehicle traveling under the speed limit on some two-lane roads in Wyoming.

Wyoming Department of Transportation spokesman Bruce Burrows says the only vehicles the law authorizes to exceed that speed limit are passenger cars, pickups and motorcycles, and only if they are not towing a trailer.

Burrows says if the vehicle being passed is going under the speed limit, but the passing vehicle exceeds the limit by more than 10 mph, the passing driver can be cited for exceeding the posted limit. Burrow adds that even though this law allows you to exceed the speed limit to pass, you still can’t do that unless you are in an area that is marked for passing and can do so safely.