December 10, 1869, legislators in the newly founded Wyoming Territory approved a bill granting women the right to vote. Yesterday, a patriotic tribute was left at the birthplace of women's suffrage in America, an "I Voted" sticker placed on the marker commemorating the site of the historic meeting in downtown Cheyenne.

Voting rights were one of several firsts for women in what would later become the "Equality State".

In 1870, Esther Hobart Morris became the first female Justice of the Peace in South Pass City. Less than a month later, a court in Laramie seated the nation's first all-female jury. Also that year, another Laramie woman, Martha Symons Atkinson became the first female court bailiff.

In 1910, Wyoming elected its first woman to public office when Albany County voters chose Mary G. Bellamy to represent them in the state legislature.

In 1920, Jackson became the first town in America to have an all-female government, electing women to serve as Mayor, Marshall, and Town Council.

In 1925, Wyoming became the first state to elect a female governor, when Nellie Tayloe Ross was chosen to replace her late husband William Ross.

In 1917, the Cheyenne chapter of Daughters of the American Revolution erected the marker on the site where the first territorial legislature convened. The building is now occupied by a retail shop near the corner of 17th Street and Carey Avenue in Cheyenne.

Ben Kuhns, Townsquare Media
Ben Kuhns, Townsquare Media


More From 101.9 KING-FM