The National Hockey League announced it's 2012 inductees to the Hall of Fame this week and the list includes a Colorado Avalanche player.

Joe Sakic and three other forwards from the NHL will be officially inducted into the hockey Hall of Fame on November 12 in Toronto.

Along with Sakic, the 18-member selection committee on Tuesday, June 26, voted to include Adam Oates, Mats Sundin and Pavel Bure into the shrine in Toronto.


Joe Sakic played his entire 20-year NHL career with the Quebec Nordiques-Colorado Avalanche franchise. Sakic and Sundin began their careers as teammates in Quebec City and both were selected for the Hall of Fame in their first year of eligibility, while Oates and Bure made it after waits of five and six years, respectively.

At the time of his retirement in 2009, Joe Sakic was eighth on the NHL's all-time point leaders, 14th in goals and 11th in all-time assists. Prior to the 2009-10 season opener, the Colorado Avalanche retired Sakic's number 19. Through his career, he was voted onto 13 NHL All-Star Games and was MVP in the 2004 game.

The honor for Oates came only hours after he was named coach of the Washington Capitals.


More From 101.9 KING-FM